What Is Yoga & Yoga Teacher Training

I think Yoga & Yoga Teacher training (YTT) are very useful tools to reveal the Self. The real essence of yoga and ytt are about transcending all limitations, Attuning to the Seer Within. 

Yoga and YTT are an empirical science and philosophy aimed at understanding life’s most important questions.  Which means we realize that there is no separation between anyone or anything. Everything is One. 

YTT Enables

Yoga alone enables the practitioner to perceive and experi­ence the world within and around themself. To touch the divine joy of all creation, and then to share that wealth and happiness with their fellow beings.

Yoga -the ancient practice that may have originated in India. It involves movement, meditation, and breathing techniques to promote mental and physical well-being. 

Various styles of yoga combine physical postures, breathing techniques, and meditation or relaxation. A regular yoga practice can promote Trusted Source endurance, strength, calmness, flexibility, and well-being.

YTT Focus

Yoga & YTT focuses on poses designed to stimulate inner peace and physical energy, cultivating mental focus and expanding spiritual energy. Yoga can help support a balanced, active lifestyle.

The overall philosophy of yoga is about connecting the mind, body, and spirit. There are six branches of yoga. Each branch represents a different focus and set of characteristics.

YTT Branches

The six branches are:

Hatha yoga: This is the physical and mental branch that aims to prime the body and mind.

Raja yoga: This branch involves meditation and strict adherence to a series of disciplinary steps known as the eight limbs of yoga.

Karma yoga: This is a path of service that aims to create a future free from negativity and selfishness.

Bhakti yoga: This aims to establish the path of devotion, a positive way to channel emotions and cultivate acceptance and tolerance.

Jnana yoga: This branch of yoga is about wisdom, the path of the scholar, and developing the intellect through study.

Tantra yoga: This is the pathway of ritual, ceremony, or consummation of a relationship.

Yoga is a mind and body practice, it maintains that chakras are center points of energy, thoughts, feelings, and the physical body. People who practice yoga use asanas to free energy and stimulate an imbalanced chakra.

There are seven major chakras, each with its own focus: Sahasrara, Ajna, Vishuddha, Anahata, Manipura, Svadhishthana, Muladhara.

YTT Styles

Types and styles of yoga include:

Ashtanga yoga

Bikram yoga

Hatha yoga

Iyengar yoga

Kripalu yoga

Kundalini yoga

Power yoga



Yin yoga: Yin yoga places its focus on holding passive poses for long periods of time. This style of yoga targets deep tissues, ligaments, joints, bones, and fascia.

Prenatal yoga: Prenatal yoga uses poses that practitioners have created with pregnant people in mind. This yoga style can help people get back into shape after giving birth, and support health during pregnancy.

Restorative yoga

Right now I am very interested in Yin yoga(something simple and gentle ,easy for young kids) and Prenatal yoga(more comfortable for pregnant women), hopefully I can learn more about these from Karma Yoga.