Chakras are with us despite where we are at anytime: Toronto, Vancouver, Los Angeles. Chakras, the Sanskirt  word for ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’, represent the energy centers beginning from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

Imagine a swirling focus of energy (like a hurricane) where consciousness and matter meet. There are considered to be seven main Chakras that correspond to mass nerve centers, major organs and spiritual matter.


If you take a yoga teacher training program, Chakras form a large part of the curriculum. The concept of Chakras originated in ancient Hinduism scripture between 1500 and 500 BC. It is said that within each Chakra is ‘prana’, our life force. In order to maintain a balanced and healthy alignment your Chakras must be open and allow for prana to flow freely.

Since energy and life force themselves have so many variant intangible meanings, it becomes a difficult concept to describe, similar to explaining what love is or where it comes from. As humans there are numerous feelings we do not fully understand that are undeniably true to our experience.

There Are Seven

Consider the following seven energetic properties and how they correspond to your physiological, physical, emotional and spiritual body.

First Chakra – Muladhara (The Root Chakra)

Found around the first three vertebrae at the base of the spine, the blatter and the colon. This is the chakra of stability, security and basic needs. Seen as red in colour, when open you should feel safe, fearless and grounded.

Second Chakra – Svadhisthana (The Sacral Chakra)

This orange chakra is the creative and sexual center found above the pubic bone, below the navel. It represents the reproductive organs and the prostate. When in balance you should find yourself emotionally level and in flow with your creative expression.

Third Chakra – Manipura (The Solar Plexus Chakra)

A lustrous gem sitting between the navel and breastbone this chakra governs impulse control and ego. Yellow in colour and embodied through the liver, pancreas and stomach. Aligned you may recover personal power, will power and assertion.

Fourth Chakra – Anahata (The Heart Chakra)

In the middle of our chest is the heart chakra. It unites the lower chakras of matter with the upper chakras of spirit. Seen as green and to be the bridge between mind and body. Once we work through our physical chakras we can begin to open our spiritual energy fully. Emotionally linked to acceptance, love and compassion.

Fifth Chakra – Vishuddha (The Throat Chakra)

The fifth wheel represents communication, verbal expression and reliability. Speak your highest truth when this chakra is flowing. Housing your neck, thyroid glands, jaw and mouth, this center is blue in colour.

Sixth Chakra – Ajna (The Third Eye)

Perceived as deep purple and found between the eyebrows or the center of the brain. The ‘Third Eye’ serves as a pathway for intuition and ability to see truth in the world. May you find wisdom and imaginatory analyse. This is the center for the nose, ears and pineal gland.

Seventh Chakra – Sahaswara (The Crown Chakra)

Also named the ‘thousand petal lotus’ this energy point is located at the crown of the head and is only chakra in series found outside the body. Said to manifest enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves or the divine. The state of pure being is expressed by either colours light purple or white.

In The End

Now with an introductory idea of the philosophies behind energy centers, perhaps contemplate that all living things are in fact energy. By developing an awareness to what defines us, may we find imbalance, clarity and everything in between.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *